The Magic of SevenThe Significance of the Number Seven

Let’s explore the magic of seven as a significant number for humanity and our evolving consciousness. The number seven has had cultural significance throughout human history and is frequently referred to in religious texts. It is woven through our stories, myths, and traditions holding a meaning of completeness, wholeness, and fulfillment. The number seven manifests throughout the planet and in nature, in our physiology, and in our spiritual traditions.

Seven is also understood to be the limit of our capacity for processing short-term information. Perhaps this is the reason for the use of a 7-digit phone number. It is the last single-digit prime number and is generally considered the luckiest of numbers.

The Color Spectrum and Light

The seven colors of the rainbow are streams of energy or vibration that expresses and informs all of nature and form. Our ability to visualize these streams of light/color as a rainbow after a storm provides a beautiful and moving treat. The rainbow is the sign of the covenant established between God and all life on the earth.

Studying the Seven Rays provides a way to understand the seven-building energies permeating all of creation. Esoteric traditions hold that all souls manifest upon one of these seven divine rays of manifestation. Each Ray emits its own unique vibration or sound (note), but all of the Rays are required for creating and perfecting form.

The number seven combines the mystical and creative number 3 with the hardworking number 4. The meaning of this will become more evident as we progress through the course.

Examples of Seven or Septenary Expression

The Magic of Seven in Nature

  • Seven colors of the rainbow (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet
  • Seven planets visible to the naked eye (Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn)
  • Seven Continents
  • Seven Seas
  • Seven Chakras
  • Number of periods in the Periodic Table of the Elements
  • The number of Crystal Systems (triclinic, monoclinic, orthorhombic, tetragonal, trigonal, hexagonal, and cubic.
  • Seven sisters of the Pleiades (the Great Bear)
  • Seven Musical notes (‘do’ repeats)

The Magic of Seven in Religious Reference

  • Number 7 biblically represents being finished or complete – the fulfillment of a divine mandate
  • Seven gifts of the holy spirit
  • Seven Archangels (spirits before the throne) which stand before the throne of God
  • Seven deadly sins (lust, greed, gluttony, wrath, envy, pride, sloth)
  • Seven virtues (chastity, temperance, charity, diligence, kindness, patience, humility)
  • Islam has seven heavens, seven hells
  • The Magic of SevenSeven stems on the lamp on the tabernacle
  • Seven sephirot as the primary conscious emotional attributes of the creator (Kindness, Mercy, Beauty, Eternity, Splendor, Foundation, Kingship)

The Magic of Seven in Human Expression and Organization

  • Seven wonders of the ancient world (Colossus of Rhodes, Lighthouse of Alexandria, (Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Great Pyramid of Giza, Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, Temple of Artemis, Statue of Zeus at Olympia)
  • Seven wonders of the modern world (Great Wall of China, Petra, Christ the Redeemer, Machu Picchu, Chichen Itza, Colosseum, Taj Mahal)
  • Seven Days of creation (days of the week)
  • Seven Universal Emotions (Fear, Anger, Disgust, Happiness, Sadness, Surprise, Contempt)

The Foundation for Rayology

Rays of Aspect

Rays 1, 2, and 3 are called the rays of Aspect. Three is the number of the trinity, and together they establish the balance and equilibrium of heaven. This equilibrium reflects into form and correspondence

Ray One

Will and Purpose




Signs: Aries, Leo, Capricorn

Government, Executive Leadership, Military

Ray Two

Love and Wisdom




Signs: Gemini, Virgo, Pisces

Teaching, Healing, Helping Professions

Ray Three

Active Intelligence

Holy Spirit



Signs: Cancer, Libra, Capricorn

Business, Finance, Academics, Speculation

Rays of Attribute (Includes Rays 4, 5, 6, 7) –

Four is the number of the material world, form, earth, and body. The rays of attribute are a product of the rays of Aspect (1, 2, and 3)

Ray Four

Harmony through Conflict


Signs: Taurus, Scorpio, Sagittarius

Mediation, Diplomacy, Psychotherapy, Arts

Ray Five

Concrete Mind and Science


Signs: Leo, Sagittarius, Aquarius

Science, Mathematics, Research, Mechanical Engineering

Ray Six

Idealism and Devotion


Signs: Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces

Social Causes, Religious Orders, Charitable Work

Ray Seven

Ceremony, Order, and Magic


Signs: Aries, Cancer, Capricorn

Management, Administration, Architecture, Project Planning

The number 7 Signifies Completion

The Seven Soul Types Product
Rayology Course Product